Electrostimulation

Builds, tone up and strengthens muscles 

Electrostimulation simply imitates the natural muscular contractions of the body.

Electrodes are placed at strategic locations, and micro-electrical impulses are sent to the motor points of the muscles to trigger contractions. 

The Slendertone technology… guaranteed results

slendertone physotech

EMS: Electrical Muscle Stimulation

First, remember that the electro stimulator was originally designed by doctors for therapeutic purposes in hospitals.  The technology is in fact very simple. Usually created by the brain and transmitted by the nerves, the impulse is reproduced in the form of a small electrical current. Therefore, the induced contraction remains entirely natural since only the origin of the message is modified.

The fundamental principles of the muscle stimulation have been highlighted 200 years ago by Galvani who discovered that a shock of static electricity applied to an exposed nerve of a dead frog could cause its leg to contract. Since time, considerable progress marked the application of this technology and it was in 1965 that Bio-Medical Research Company of England started to distribute worldwide their first state of the art electro stimulator as we know it today.

We can adjust exactly the strength of the contraction with the stimulator and get as many as we wish (more than 1,000 in 45 minutes) without any help or assistance from the brain. A short rest period is granted to the muscles after each contraction, which ensures a quick elimination of toxins for a complete recovery… and no sore muscles!

Effects

Generating so many contractions will inevitably causes the muscle strengthening. Results will obviously vary depending on the muscle condition at the beginning of the treatments. The results obtained by the stimulator are favourably compared to those acquired by traditional means.

Firming up

The electro stimulator was, above all, designed to improve muscle tone (firming).  As expected, frequency and regularity of treatments are essentials to obtain good results. Two to three treatments a week for one to two months will be sufficient to achieve remarkable results.

Development

Development of weak muscles will be easy to obtain. However, on strong muscles, we need to induce significant contractions to ensure the participation of all muscle fibres. Because there is no weight resistance, no one can expect to obtain an exaggerate hypertrophy of the muscle. If this is the goal, by combining the muscle stimulation training with traditional weightlifting will achieve spectacular results.

Thinning

Let’s start by correcting a widespread mistake. Many people expect to lose weight. This is usually not the case. Remember that we burn very few calories during an electrostimulation treatment. The thinning effect is obtained by increasing the tension of loose muscles.  In case of overweight problems, one should therefore combine exercise with a balanced diet.

Physical condition

Thirty minutes of electrostimulation is the equivalent of two hours of intensive traditional training according to some studies. The strength, power and therefore the muscular endurance are increased much more rapidly than by traditional means. However, the cardiovascular condition is not improved since the treatments are carried out without any efforts. This gap will be easily filled by adding a low-impact aerobic exercise program. 

PRICES

$30 : 1 electro (45 min)

$175 : 8 electros

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT

CONTACT US

Build muscles without effort is the Slendertone Mission

Facts

A large number of scientific and specialized publications are all unanimous in stating that this is a very good complement to traditional training. And it was in 1972 that it was recognized by the Olympic Committee and endorsed by the Canadian Association of Athletics.

Effectiveness

In 95% of cases, the effectiveness is certain. Factors that may affect the performance are: a weak muscle condition, a sedentary life and excess weight. And for people suffering of glandular or water retention disorders or having an acute problem of obesity will not obtain good results.

Precautions

Because electrical current used is extremely low does not guarantee that the method is totally safe.  In case of abuse, the user could experience some serious muscle aching, or even suffer of a muscular injury. A progressive exercise along with a meticulous follow-up will be required to avoid any pain or discomfort. Finally, there are some cases where the electrostimulation is to proscribe, such as pacemaker patients and people with neuromuscular or inflammatory diseases. But for anyone in good health, we could only see advantages.

Slendertone Physotech
BIO-MEDICAL RESEARCH INTERNATIONAL
XBody Physotech Model

See also XBody

THE NEW WAVE OF FITNESS
SEE DETAILS

Électrostimulation

Développe, raffermit et renforce les muscles

L’électrostimulation imite tout simplement les contractions musculaires naturelles du corps.

Des électrodes sont placées à des endroits stratégiques, puis des micro-impulsions électriques sont envoyées au niveau des nerfs ou des muscles pour déclencher des contractions musculaires.

La technologie Slendertone… des résultats garantis.

slendertone physotech

Électrostimulation musculaire

Rappelons d’abord que l’électrostimulateur fut initialement conçu par des médecins à des fins thérapeutiques. Son principe de fonctionnement est fort simple. Habituellement créé par le cerveau, l’influx nerveux est reproduit sous forme d’un léger courant électrique. La contraction ainsi provoquée demeure donc entièrement naturelle puisque seule la provenance du message est changée.

Les principes fondamentaux de l’électrostimulation ont été mis en évidence il y a plus de 200 ans par Galvani avec sa désormais célèbre expérience sur la cuisse de grenouille. Depuis le temps, des progrès considérables ont marqué l’application de cette technologie et c’est en 1965 que la compagnie Bio-Medical Research d’Angleterre mit au point l’appareil tel qu’on le connait aujourd’hui.

L’électrostimulateur permet de doser exactement la force de la contraction et d’en obtenir autant qu’on le désire (plus de 1 000 en 45 minutes) et ce, sans l’aide de la volonté. Un court temps de repos est accordé aux muscles après chaque contraction, ce qui assure une élimination rapide des toxines, se traduisant ainsi en une absence de courbatures.

Les effets

Le fait d’obtenir autant de contractions provoquera immanquablement le raffermissement musculaire. Les résultats varieront évidemment selon l’état du muscle au début. Les effets ainsi obtenus se comparent avantageusement à ceux acquis par les moyens traditionnels.

Raffermissement

L’appareil est avant tout destiné à l’amélioration du tonus musculaire (raffermissement). Comme tout exercice, une fréquence et une régularité des séances sont essentielles pour obtenir les résultats escomptés. Deux à trois séances par semaine pendant un à deux mois suffiront pour donner des résultats remarquables.

Développement

Le développement de muscles faibles ne posera aucun problème. Sur des muscles déjà forts, il faudra cependant provoquer des contractions importantes afin d’assurer la participation de toutes les fibres. Puisqu’il n’y a pas de résistance contre un poids, on ne peut s’attendre à une hypertrophie exagérée du muscle. Si tel est le but recherché, en combinant l’électrostimulation à l’entraînement par poids et haltères, on parvient à des résultats spectaculaires.

Amincissement

Il convient ici de corriger une erreur largement répandue. De nombreuses personnes s’attendent à maigrir, c’est-à-dire à perdre du poids. Ce n’est généralement pas le cas. Il ne faut pas oublier que l’électrostimulation entraîne une faible dépense en calories. C’est par les tension des muscles relâchés qu’on peut s’attendre à un amincissement. Dans le cas d’embonpoint, il convient donc d’associer l’exercice à un régime alimentaire équilibré.

Condition physique

Trente minutes d’électrostimulation équivaudraient à deux heures d’entrainement intensif selon certaines études. La force, la puissance et par conséquent l’endurance musculaire sont augmentées beaucoup plus rapidement que par les moyens traditionnels. Toutefois, en l’absence d’essoufflement et de rythme cardiaque accéléré, puisque l’exercice se pratique sans effort, on ne peut noter d’amélioration au niveau des conditions cardio-vasculaire et pulmonaire. Cette lacune sera facilement comblée par un léger programme d’exercice de type aérobique.

slendertone physotech

TARIFS

30$ : 1 électro (45 min)

175$ : 8 électros

POUR PLUS D’INFORMATION OU POUR PRENDRE RENDEZ-VOUS

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

Se muscler sans effort, c’est la mission Slendertone

Les faits

Que ce soit l’Actualité de février 1988 ou La Presse du 4 février 1984 qui vantaient les mérites de cette technologie, sans compter un nombre important de publications scientifiques et spécialisées, tous sont unanimes à affirmer qu’il s’agit là d’un très bon complément à l’entraînement traditionnel. Et c’est en 1972 qu’elle fut reconnue par le comité Olympique puis endossée par l’Association canadienne d’Athlétisme.

Efficacité

Dans 95% des cas, l’efficacité est certaine. Il convient alors de déterminer les cas où l’utilisation de l’appareil sera sans effet. Citons en exemples les personnes souffrant de troubles glandulaires, de rétention d’eau et de problèmes aigus d’obésité. Les facteurs susceptibles d’en affecter le bon fonctionnement sont une faible musculature, une vie sédentaire et un excès de poids.

Précautions

Le fait que les courants utilisent sont extrêmement faibles ne garantit pas que la méthode est sans risque. D’un usage abusif pourrait en résulter de sérieuses courbatures, voire des lésions musculaires. Un exercice progressif ainsi qu’un suivi méticuleux seront de rigueur. Enfin, il existe quelques cas où l’électrostimulateur est à proscrire, tels les porteurs d’un stimulateur cardiaque et les personnes souffrant de maladies neuromusculaires ou inflammatoires. Mais pour toute personne en bonne santé, on ne voit que des avantages à l’emploi de l’électrostimulateur.

Slendertone Physotech
BIO-MEDICAL RESEARCH INTERNATIONAL
XBody Physotech Model

Voir aussi  XBody

LA NOUVELLE GÉNÉRATION EN FITNESS
VOIR DÉTAILS